Advice from when i was in school, albeit that was 5 years ago but that doesn't mean i don't still get names shouted at me when i walk around my town.
In School I'd suggest ignoring it if that doesn't work then laugh at it. If you can laugh at yourself they may call you a freak but they'll notice they're not having the intended effect.
Ignoring it isn't as easy, i got it off everyone even my friends. Looking back now it is far too obvious they weren't my friends, all i wanted was to be liked. Being a teenager is hard enough. Trying to figure out who you are and everywhere you look there is pressure to be different.
My turning point was the start of my 3rd year of high school, i dyed my hair black and started dressing like a goth - may sound depressing - I was also really into Evanescence. I wouldn't speak to teachers about it that only makes it worse. I was wanting to be a teacher so i could advise students in bullying situations with my own experience and advice. When i turned "goth" it made me happy. Odd i know a happy goth. It was awful before that, i couldn't tell anyone because i honestly thought I'd get laughed at and that it was my fault. My mum went through the same thing when she was in high school, her transforming point was punk. Anyway i don't want anyone having to deal with that i know it happens everyday, and the thought of my little brothers going through it fills me with rage. I would cry myself to sleep every night because it was so soul destroying.
I feel like I've just had a big rant but if you've read this and you need someone to talk to I'd be very happy to help in any way i can. Be happy with yourself and keep remembering how awesome you are, after all that's why people bully, they don't like that they're not like you.
I truly hope this helps, please comment, if this has helped I'd be glad to know.
No comments:
Post a Comment